top of page
 UPCOMING BLOGS: 

 

 

What is This?

 

This blog was created for me to have a place to vent about things in dance that I'm passionate about.  None of my blogs are based on research or statistics, but it is based on my personal opinions, biases, and values.

 

I refer to myself as Danceosaurus on purpose.  I'm on the more seasoned side of life.  I very well may be out of touch with the "now".  I concede that.  I love innovations in dance.   But get dissappointed when when someone, even by accident, tries to marginalize the art form.  

 

If you're are offended by my comments just ignore me.  I'm not trying to offend or convince anybody of anything.  I'm not even saying I'm right.  I just needed a place to excerise some thought.  

~Danceosaurus

 RECENT POSTS: 
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 

Sustainability? Truth? Consequences?

For the last few months, I have been killing time doing online surveys. Now you may ask, “What has that got to do with dance?” Well, it doesn’t really, but several surveys wanted to know my opinion on product or service sustainability. Again! What does that have to do with dance?


Again, nothing. But those questions got me thinking. After COVID and all the adjustments studios made to re-enter in-person teaching and now with a focus on inflation and product sustainability, it has reaffirmed my thoughts and feelings about competitive dance. So, what the hell’s the connection between competitive dance, residual COVID, inflation, and sustainability you may ask? Perhaps nothing. But, in a way, I see a bit of a contradiction in attitude.


I’ve been told that I MUST recycle. I MUST reduce waste. I MUST conserve energy. I MUST reduce my carbon footprint. These seem like good things we all should be focused on. Preventing global catastrophes. Leaving the world, a better place for our children. These are admiral goals, although I seem to fail at some degree in each area. I do try. But it got me thinking. There seems to be a little contradiction between competition dance and these goals I MUST aim for.


Here is what I see. From March through June many studios travel to various cities throughout the province to compete in various competitions. For some studios this is an almost weekly event for 6 or 7 weeks. This means that hundreds, if not thousands, of families are piling into their family vehicles and driving to another city to dance in a competition. Just a little side note—dance travel is minuscule as compared to family sports travel. Which, for them, can be travelling around the province almost every weekend for 3 or 4 months. This weekly trek to involve children in competition has to be contributing to the carbon emissions that I’m told I’m supposed to reduce. By the way I really don’t believe EVERYONE is travelling in electric vehicles yet. Which until we achieve an oil/coal free electric grid isn’t really a reduction in carbon emissions anyway. We may get there but probably not in this decade. But I digress. So, rather than stay in their local area and compete (or just perform) they choose to travel. “It’s a great experience for the kids”. Yes, it is. Buuut, do you see my “carbon” point?


The next contradiction is costuming. I see studios and parents spend thousands of dollars on bling and costumes. Oh yeah! There are some amazing costumes out there. (I get a number of PRINTED CATALOGUES every year with the latest dance styles and colours). Costumes I’d love to tell my dance parents, “This is the perfect costume for this dance and for only $150.00 (plus tax and shipping) we have to have them”. But it seems; however, no thought given to reusing or recycling previous years costuming. The latest styles and colours must be used every competition year. AAAND studios adorn themselves in their newest logoed matching shirts, pants, and jackets. This to me is a huge waste. Spending hundreds of dollars on a costume you use for 3 to 4 minutes a few times in a year. Besides, most costumes are made from some synthetic material which is often manufactured from some petroleum product. This certainly isn’t moving us to a more sustainable environment.


If COVID showed us anything, it was—anything we take for granted can be taken away at any moment. AND THERE IS LITTLE WE CAN DO ABOUT IT. We had to make do, change our focus, and continue somehow. If the “woke” people are correct. And they may. Then we are doomed if we don’t change what we’re doing now. Then perhaps curbing some aspects to competition may be due. Serious thought should be given to traveling less, spending less, and reusing more.

bottom of page